Where have I come from and where am I at with NGL?

Following on from my initial thoughts about Kligyte and threshold concepts, I’ve applied the lens to myself and made the following observations.
Troublesome
A little. As a student and learner, my earlier formal education was based on a cogitative behaviourist model with universities and academics regarded as the experts (questions of relevance to real life here). My recent PG studies in education have been based on the social constructivist style of learning, which I found to provide a more relevant approach to learning and acquiring knowledge, with opportunities to apply learning to real life scenarios.
Stepping into the networked learning space proved a much bigger shift, with the reality of knowledge generation and sharing, creating many challenges and opportunities for me. I’d like to think NGL provides an improved model for achieving better educational outcomes, which better fit the needs of a rapidly changing global environment.
Discursive
I’m developing my network literacy and see this as an important foundation to my future NGL. Developing this literacy helps NGL become more coherent and sensible to me. As a learner, student and teacher, I appreciate the importance of “crossing the threshold of networked learning” to access and participate in distributed information.
Liminality
Spending time in a liminal space, moving backwards and forwards, messy journeys across conceptual terrain – that’s me! I like the idea of being able to approach thresholds again, even if I’ve stepped back initially after putting my toes in the water.
I can relate well to Annelise’s post ‘A sea of information: run’ where she talks about progressing then seeing a tsunami-like wave of information with the temptation to duck and hide. My analogy being that it feels like I’m floating around in that sea of information, sometimes catching a good wave and feeling elated, then getting dumped by a technology challenge, other times just feeling out of my depth!
Irreversible and integrative
I think I’m looking forward to this part – why? Because I expect the new practices I’m developing will be relevant to my professional and personal life. I’ll better understand the strengths and weaknesses involved with networked learning and hopefully will able to provide a balanced perspective along with practical suggestions for implementation in teaching.
In the video shared by ggdines, I was somewhat comforted to hear Siemens talking about the ‘paradigm shifts and restructuring of neuro-pathways which cause the learner to feel frustrated or irritated. Then if the learner persists they will become active “sense-makers” who connect and contribute to learning. This is certainly my aim and inspiration to continue with my NGL studies.

From my own teaching perspective, I’ll be aiming to implement some strategies in my role at USQ where:
“New technologies and networked learning have the potential not only to expand how academic staff conduct their teaching, but also to challenge their practice and how they view teaching and, with this, to profoundly change how they see their roles and possibly how they live their lives.”
At the same time appreciating that:
“These changes are not necessarily welcomed by busy academic staff – introducing technologies in teaching may be perceived as an invitation to change one’s practice, identity and life, which may leave academic staff confused and in a state of liminality.”
(Kligyte, pp.541-2)

Kligyte, G. (2009). Threshold concept: A lens for examining networked learning. In Proceedings of the Ascilite 2009 Conference (pp. 540-542). Auckland, NZ.

This entry was posted in Me as learner, Me as student, Me as teacher. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where have I come from and where am I at with NGL?

  1. Pingback: Reflection and direction setting – Week 5 (An education for a dollar fifty in late charges at the public library) | Networked and Global Learning for Cystic Fibrosis

  2. Pingback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me | insights

Leave a Reply

