Reflections on learning (and CLEM)

It’s been interesting to see the various approaches and applications of CLEM to students’ situations. Clare’s application of CLEM to learning Irish music was really helpful (and enjoyable) and caused me to reflect on my approach to learning to draw Zentangles – more to follow. This followed by her post on ‘Literature around YouTube learning’ reinforced the value of visual instruction for students and how helpful this can be to their learning. The length of videos used as learning resources is important and something which is regularly mentioned to teaching staff in my work situation – short and succinct ticks lots of boxes for learners, students and teachers!

5181402168_5923544b45_o

DreamScribe: Student zentangles

CLEM and learning about Zentangles

Community: There’s a large community of ‘Tanglers’ and I have identified some resources to get me started. To date I have not interacted with any online blogs or forums, as I’ve found it easier to work as ‘apprentice’ with a ‘master’ who resides at my workplace. I realize this is not in the spirit of NGL style learning, but I expect to interact more online in the future. As in my ‘teacher’ context my learning is taking place in my immediate community rather than an online community.
Literature: So far I am working from a hard copy book for beginners, but an area which I plan to explore further soon are shared stories about the positive impacts of creating Zentangles.
Examples: There are lots of YouTube videos for beginners through to advanced, so these will suit my learning preferences as mentioned above. There are also loads of static patterns to learn from online and I’ve just chosen a few sites to begin with.
Model: Not too sure about this part of CLEM and Zentangling?
I am still working on the basics and plan to share some of these efforts on my blog soon – I hope? I also plan to reflect on the benefits I’ve experienced from my tangling activities.

Overall as an NGL learner I am still struggling with too much seeking and sensing – there’s SO much relevant information ‘out there’ and I need to improve my strategies for staying on task, as it is so easy to become distracted by interesting threads of discussion. Maybe this is a result of my workplace situation, so much of relevance and potential impact on future practice in higher education. The mind races ahead with possibilities, but the reality is (unfortunately) that the wheels turn slowly in a large organization – will they speed up with the pace of change?

 

This entry was posted in Me as learner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on learning (and CLEM)

  1. Pingback: How to harness the amazing ideas of others ! | Pushing the Boundaries with Networked Learning

  2. Pingback: As a student, participation in NGL was useful for me | Pushing the Boundaries with Networked Learning

  3. Pingback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me | Pushing the Boundaries with Networked Learning

Leave a Reply

