Blogging about blogging

Recent reflections about blogging are revealing some thoughts, which have possibly been running through many students’ minds, including mine and I’m finding it really valuable to read these now, as I contemplate the benefits of NGL as a learner, student and teacher.
Eliesha’s post elaborates on why she does not like blogging, although she is now trying to throw caution to the wind; Anne comments on the hours and hours she spends reading, thinking and composing her posts. Paul wonders in his stinky fish analogy if anybody is out there and do they care to read his blogs and comes to the following conclusion, which sounds like good advice to me.

It’s a risk to put anything out there. But I think that unless we risk we don’t grow.  I guess it comes down to practice.  Unless we practice we don’t transform, and through continued practice we are forced to reflect on our experiences, feedback so that hopefully we improve.

I would love to have time to read all students’ posts and engage in more conversations, but time is always against me and the tasks in this course swallow up all the time I can spare. So it’s quite possible there are other conversations happening around this topic.
I do recall David’s advice earlier in the course where he suggests that we won’t have time to do this!
It’s enjoyable at times, gruelling at others – I’m not a journalist or a writer, so composing blog posts does not come easily to me either, but my mind is filled with thoughts and I’ve even dreamed about NGL activities, so it’s getting into my psyche! Now I find myself asking if there should be more ‘quality’ time to interact and learn from each other, rather than racing to complete the required number of tasks and write our final reflections- also to be posted?
I am also wondering if it is good practice to provide ‘helpful suggestions about blogging’ for students at the start of the course or is it something we have to learn from experience? I recall some links to sites about blogging at the start of the course, but with so many other things to do…….
The 23things site provides some helpful information about blogging and suggests that:

After you’ve got past the technical skills, you’ll want to think about writing skills. Yes, you need to adapt your writing styles for the web. People read differently on the screen.. they skim and scan, so you need to write more like a newspaper journalist. Lead ideas up front, plenty of paragraphs, smaller chunks, fewer words, lots of bullet points and headings (1-2-3). Images where you can, too.

Mari had some great suggestions for Laura and Tracey based on her experiences in the course. As a student and learner, I’d like to have access to helpful advice like this – a course artifact, so would like to know your thoughts?
Mari has commented “This is a tough question… Something I often struggle with when I need to guide my own students. How much guidance is the right amount? It also depends so much from learner to learner. It worked for me in this course to figure things out along the way………”
After reading Mari’s post, and David’s advice about ‘Making connections with ideas and knowledge not people’ in Tracey’s post, it caused me to revisit the topic of 21st century skills for today’s learners and hope that it is not too challenging for adult learners to develop some of these skills such as grit, determination, tenacity, perseverance and self regulation to name a few.

cropped-img_1368.jpg

Shedding light: Deb Liriges

This entry was posted in Me as learner, Me as student and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blogging about blogging

  1. Pingback: Does learning need to be this stressful? | (sm)art education network

  2. Pingback: Navigating NGL is like going to the amusement park for the first time… | networked, global and learning

  3. Pingback: Reflection on Blogging | globalconnectionusq

  4. Pingback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me | insights

  5. Pingback: As a student, participation in NGL was useful for me | insights

Leave a Reply

